Another one bites the dust

What a blog this is turning out to be. I should change its name to “The tradegies of life.”

I awoke a few days ago on Saturday, was enjoying my morning coffee and general school vacation feelings, when a dreadful announcement was made. My brother charged into the living room and cried, ” THE GUINEA PIGS ARE DEAD!”

There was a moment of silent horror, in which I thought it might be a prank. My mother and brother hurried off to the room. I followed. A dreadful sight met our eyes. The guinea pigs were lying stiff and cold in their cozy indoor cage. My brother was furious. He bought his guinea pig for himself, he took care of it, and here it was, dead. My mother was shocked and horrified and was intent on finding how they died. That’s when I noticed that there were only three. My little sister had taken out her guinea pig earlier today and was sitting on the couch with it.

Interrogations. Investigations. Soon we discovered the culprit. My youngest sister.

So far, this is what we could conclude from the situation:

Firstly, my five year old sister went and fetched her guinea pig. She accidentally left the door open to the room.

Shortly after my mom went to shower. My brother and I were still asleep and therefore unable to watch the children.

Then my youngest two year old sister sneaked into the room. She decided she also wanted to hold a guinea pig. All of them.

But since little children aren’t as in tune with their surroundings, she held them a little too tight. The rest is history.

Now, all who remains, is Rainbow Dash. The irony of the situation is that everyone supposed that if one of them died, it would be Rainbow Dash.

Alas, now Rainbow Dash must roam her runs and cages alone.

Poor Rainbow Dash…

A few days after, my brother and mother drove all the way to the next town to get another guinea pig. Guinea pigs are sociable creatures and need company. Unfortunately, the pet shop we bought our guinea pigs from was busy taking their guinea pigs to the vet.

Guinea pigs are experts at hiding injuries/disease. Turns out the Guinea pigs were sick. We’re still unsure whether our Guinea pigs died from disease or toddler, but Rainbow dash still lives. Alas we must wait for the pet shop to get more Guinea pigs, and until then Rainbow Dash will be alone.

Besides this, a quite recent tradegy occured.

Lady Lemon, prized breeding female budgie, became eggbound.

My prized pair, Mr Milkshake and Lady Lemon.

Since it was Sunday and the vet was on the other side of town and probably closing, I dashed over to my neighbor. Uncle Danie, who has a few decades of bird breeding experience behind him, swiftly got the egg out. Unfortunately, the day after, Lady Lemon passed to a higher plane of existence.

May Noot Noot Spaghet, Pinny Gig, Throckmorton, and Lady Lemon rest in peace.

3 thoughts on “Another one bites the dust

  1. Vera Hoorens

    Hi Birdnerd, I am so sorry you lost the guinea pigs. You were all so attached to them. Don’t be angry with your little sisters. They must be sad also. Give my regards to the family. Love you! Auntie Vera

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel so bad for you and your family. It’s so hard to lose beloved pets, and people who don’t have pets do not understand at all!
    So sorry for your losses, and will put all of you in my prayers for comfort…

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.