Its bird vacation!

When one breeds birds, there is one important thing all breeders know; your birds should be allowed to go on break. From finches to parrots to pigeons, any bird you breed should not have to constantly be nesting. Hence my once-every-2-3-clutches-break-time policy.

A rather blurry image of my more mature female and her most recent clutch.

This month I’m putting my pairs on break. My cockatiels are officially out of the breeding business for a long time, as they have been breeding insanely for the past few years. But my budgies are still nesting away, and some of my pairs are due for breaks. One stunning pair of mine, on the mature side but excellent in the breeding cage, are only allowed one or two clutches before break time. Other pairs, like the younger more new to the breeding birds, are usually allowed two or three clutches before I put away the nest boxes. Currently, the pair of more mature birds are on a break. The other two pairs are still nesting, as one still has eggs and the other I just put together recently.

So, its kinda dull here.

Cocketiels enjoying their vacation….

But, despite my parrot-like birds being on a luxurious vacation, there is no peace in the coop. My hens, although not laying eggs, are nonetheless determined to keep themselves busy with other things. Namely kicking up dirt and straw into their water and food bowls whenever they can. Also, Koeksister and Beentjies are having dominance show downs along the chicken wire wall between their separate homes. Its a terrible thing, knowing that they would not hesitate to try and kill each other if they get the chance. But its also kind of adorable watching them attempt to rear up to twice their size and fluff out their feathers. I should’ve actually taken some photographs when they were at it this morning. I can occasionally hear them screaming at each other, probably yelling profanities and insults in Chickenese. Good thing I have a fence between them, or else there would be..er….violence.

THE BATTLE RAGES!

However, I am sure things will quiet down soon, because Koeksister pretty much got over her disdain for the other new chooks. But until then, the fence battle will rage. Hopefully none will sustain injuries from launching themselves at the fence!

Oddly enough, Koeksister is starting to seem almost…..rooster-like. Maybe the ‘being the boss’ stuff has gone to her head. I won’t be surprised if she tries to crow…

2 thoughts on “Its bird vacation!

Comments are closed.