Update on the Coop situation

Well, its been a while now, and Koeksister (the spoiled brat) is still pecking the other chicks like there’s no tomorrow. However, her treacherous chasing and pecking has become increasingly less. Also, I have begun training the new chickens and trying to get them to become more accustomed to humans. Its not working very nicely. But nonetheless, today was the day. Today I let out the ladies for a stroll in the garden. All of them, new untrained chooks and all.

Well, you see, chickens have this thing where they will ALWAYS return to the same place to roost. So, since the coop has already been established as their roosting place, I had no worries whatsoever. The timid little chicks would return to the coop to roost no matter what, and this I know from experience. Plus their timidness and fear of humans makes them easy to herd, because the slight clap of my hands sends them rocketing in to the coop. Therefore I can rest assured that my girls will be back home by sunset. But it seems they prefer to stay in the backyard. Koeksister is the one who hops over the wall and wanders off to who knows where, so I don’t need to worry just yet. Unless the younger girls follow their matriarch over the wall, because then I might have problems.

As you might deuce by now, Koeksister has established herself as the boss and the younger girls tag along behind her like ducklings. Its pretty adorable, because they follow her around despite some being twice her size. Maybe they look up to her because she’s the only chicken brave enough to sit on my lap.

Well, I am very happy to conclude that Becca, Alexia, Brigitte, Kartoufelin, Sarie Marie, and Koeksister are all enjoying their free reign.

One thought on “Update on the Coop situation

Comments are closed.